The voice that earned LOVE of Millions

Lavanya Addepalli
3 min readJun 30, 2020

--

The scorching summer generously rained the hell of a heat wave with bright sunlight that was blinding the view. Anxiety of hot summer on one side and the impatience of EU visa delay on the other side was becoming a noticeable bother for me. Me being the kind of person who does not keep much of track on release dates of new movies. But this one movie I did keep a track for three main reasons; the director of the movie Shekar Kammula, Nayanthara and I was intrigued because it was a remake of a Hindi movie “Kahaani”. Shekhar Kammula’s movies have been quite a hit and gathered all age group audiences to theaters. I searched through the online movie booking app, hoping to get at least one seat for immediate show which was too optimistic of me. But by the time I wanted to book the tickets, the time was less than 45 mins into the show hence I couldn’t book online. I have been doubtful to get the ticket yet I wanted to give it a try by going to the theater and try to buy it from the box-office. As I reached, I saw a houseful board, I was surprised to see a houseful for a noon show. Well the surprise was short lived as I went to the counter of box-office.

The lady in the counter saw my surprised face and she understood very well if the houseful was for the current show. She nodded and said it was evening show and night show and there were seats available for the current show. Just what I was hoping to hear. I took a ticket for myself and went into the theater as the show started my phone started buzzing as if it knew I was in a relax mode. A situation where I couldn’t come out, nor sit and watch the movie. I had to take a middle ground of replying the other person on WhatsApp instead of call and choose to listen to the movie as long as it took. Some random, but serious discussion going on exchange of messages. I completely lost the track of the movie when it started and how it was proceeding.

But then about 30 mins from the start of the movie I hear a hum and followed by a bit of song. The humming music made knots in my stomach and the voice of who sang seeped right into my subconscious. The soulfulness of the voice blended with lyrics superbly as if the singer she was going through the turmoil in real life. With a lump in my throat, I couldn’t dare to lift my eyes to the screen. A moment where I felt as if I was living the pain and didn’t want to dilute it anymore. I carry the same feeling every time I listen to that song ever since… Read More Below

--

--

Lavanya Addepalli

“Wandering Researcher” .. Student by profession... Human by heart with clusters in brain.. Travel & Music Lover, Foodie, Ghost Writer