The Joy of Anticipation

Lavanya Addepalli
2 min readApr 22, 2021

--

Behind the rusty red coloured metal pane glass doors, there was an empty table, and the other side was an exhibit of native South Indian snacks and desserts. A very typical scene in a foreign country. I see a group of people standing across the minibar chitchatting. I could not find any person resembling the WhatsApp pictures. I guess perhaps he left as I am late. The traffic signal is yet to change. The song on my iPod has changed, and this time to a piece of Indian music. The lyrics meant, “every moment I wait for you… just for you… here I come… I bring all the happiness in the world for you…!!” (Kshanam Kshanam from Panja Telugu Movie) It is one strange feeling as if I am to meet some loved one. The signal changes to green, and I am at the café Pushing open the door with my eager eyes to see him.

“BonJour”, someone from the minibar wished me; I see a middle-aged man with a bald head. The rest across the bar presented a warm, welcoming smile. A thin, tall young boy came towards me with an innocent smile, saying, “Vannakam”. May be with my Indian looks, he thought I was Tamilian. I don’t find the person whom I was supposed to meet. I stand there like a lost puppy in a dual mind. Thinking whether to ask someone or take a U-turn and get out of the café…

I heard “Hey… Hi… Ikkada (here)” to my right, diagonally opposite I see him. Tall and lean, fair with attractive features, expressions, sparkling eyes, and heart-filled smile like Lord “Sri Krishna”. I cannot take my eyes off him. It feels as if all the lyrics starting to make some sense. He stands up and comes forward with a handshake to greet. It just made me skip a heartbeat. I am tempted to say “You had me at Hello…!!” but it’s too early to tell on the first meeting. He looked like a Punjabi with his choice of outfits, a metal Kada (wrist band) and a big watch. I ignored everyone in the minibar; I just kept walking straight to him with an excited smile, feels like winds blowing and violins playing. He began to speak, and I am just frozen at his cute smile and not a word I remember that he said. This guy is a native of Maharashtra who could flawlessly speak five languages but cannot speak or understand his mother tongue. The interestingly strange person is my second friend in Champagne City…

--

--

Lavanya Addepalli

“Wandering Researcher” .. Student by profession... Human by heart with clusters in brain.. Travel & Music Lover, Foodie, Ghost Writer