The Girl With Missing Blue Bindi

Lavanya Addepalli
3 min readApr 29, 2019

--

The Blue Bindi on Mirror

The long-stretched beach and the tireless waves that crash on golden sand are the two Soulmates they never get apart. Early morning charcoal gray breaking the vintage hue to a bright blue sky. The blues on the horizon and the ocean merge miles apart making them inseparable. It’s the nature’s own equation of being connected to each other like one. Just like the understanding between the sun and moon, they have the perfect calculation unlike humans they have no egos. One goes down for another one to rise while sharing the lights and warmth. There is no equation or calculation deciding who gets what or gets more or less.

From the gray to dark blue and now to light blue the sky turning into a bright day. The morning brought silent music with it, only my soul could hear the musical noted and ears were numb. I lay on my bed watching the ocean slowing down the tides after a night long high tide. My gaze is affixed, but soul is wandering restless and growing impatient. I closed my eyes to calm down my soul from being anxious and rest the wanderer in me. As I close my eyes, I envision the first sight of her with unkempt hair and those brown eyes when she stared at me were absolute shiny specks of ground coffee. It took us just minutes to get along and ended up chit chatting and counting stars under the wide spread sky, lying down on the cold sand with endless humming of chilled breeze and the waves drenching our feet. The sounds of waves had now fainted and I started to feel her presence. She was the steady stillness as if never knew about the storms in the world. I slipped into deep sleep with an illusion of being braced in her arms.

It just took one beep of the message and all my illusions came crashing and I woke up from sleep just to see a message about the flight timings update. I had to force pull myself out of the bed. How I wish the illusion of her was real, she pulled me back into the bed and under the sheets to cuddle long & infinite. But the whole idea of us together just looks real to read in the paragraph of the novel and not in the real life. It was time for me to check out the hotel and make my way out back home. Except for the memory of her wished I had something to carry with me back home. Just as regular check I went into the washroom to check if I had forgotten something before, I left and I found a blue bindi (sticker) sticking on the mirror. It was her Bindi she wore it this morning just before leaving and I wonder how it is here in the mirror. Perhaps this is what she left behind for me to keep it to remember her. A priceless posses and evidence of the unimaginable time I spent with her. The girl with a blue bindi was more than I could put her in words.

“Her eyes were all flavors of coffee starting with chocolatey, then extended like a cinnamon latte until it reached the dark brown fine roasted Arabica edge rim.”

Kashyap: Searching for || The Girl With Missing Blue Bindi ||

--

--

Lavanya Addepalli

“Wandering Researcher” .. Student by profession... Human by heart with clusters in brain.. Travel & Music Lover, Foodie, Ghost Writer