A Coffee Conversation

Lavanya Addepalli
3 min readMay 9, 2021

--

The pages full of people and moments carefully threaded together, and we call it LIFE. One page after the other, we keep writing, and thus turn into chapters summarizes to the events of life. Some happy moments and then those unfortunate moments showing bitterness are also the flavour wearing several colours. The troubles and triumphs with tiny joys of life make it more precious by elevating the moment of silence — the pure sense of joy that lies in these stolen silent moments.

Once on a beautiful evening, we were fishing through her passports to list the countries she visited for her concerts to be updated on the Wiki page. She is an extraordinary multi-tasker; a minute she is here discussing with me about her tours and theatres, just another minute she is somewhere else speaking to someone, and on the third minute, she is on her phone. A toddler can be made to sit in a place successfully, but one cannot hold her in one place unless she is willing to give that uninterrupted time to someone. It would be an honored privilege for one to get that attention. The room has a great view of the western sky, and the bright orange rays were beaming in, sneaking by the curtain gaps. A strip of beam sneak past and shined on the shiny page of the passport, creating a reflective colour spectrum. That was my cue to get up and push the curtains open, only to get lost in the fantastic sunset.

The sky looked like a painter who has freshly painted golden yellow overlapping the shade with orange. The tangerine stretches were seen through far and long. The setting sun is the fire in the sky for every wintery heart. While I was reminiscing my joy of thoughts about the sunsets. She walks into the room with two tumblers of filter coffee — one for me and the other one for herself. The soothing aroma of well-blended filter coffee was the only thing that could compete with the colorful hue. Coffee is one of the rhythms that blend perfectly with the time and the mood of the day. She handed me my tumbler of steaming hot coffee, and after that, she took her seat on the sidewall while I was monkeying around with my phone to capture the best colour of the sky.

She kept enjoying the view and sipping on her coffee, and I enjoyed the aroma and the view at the same time. It was a perfect silent uninterrupted moment, and we were comfortable in that silence. As the sky started turning pink, she expressed how the sunset made her gloomy, and she would not want to watch it till the end. But then I had something to add, and my view was just after the dusky sky, followed by a moment of solitude there is a rise of twinkling stars. I know she must have thought what a monkey I am, but she is an expert in balancing the art of perfectly masking her thoughts by measuring herself & the changing situation. She just looked at me with a faint smile, and I could see a million shades of sunset in her gaze. I almost forgot about my coffee; she signed me to the coffee. As I was reaching out for my coffee, she silently walked back into the house humming, “Aaj jaaneki jidd na karo…”. The sunset was fading at the corner of my eye. I was left behind with the humming stuck at the back of my head permanently.

--

--

Lavanya Addepalli

“Wandering Researcher” .. Student by profession... Human by heart with clusters in brain.. Travel & Music Lover, Foodie, Ghost Writer